Hard ciders have been around for centuries, while the focus on gluten-free is relatively new.
LA SIDRA.- Celiac Disease is a digestive problem caused by consumption of gluten, which is in foods containing wheat, barley, rye and sometimes oats.
Therefore, most beer is undrinkable for people with gluten sensitivity, although gluten-free beer options are expanding and the selections are getting tastier.
Ciders are almost always gluten-free, like most of the leading brands confirm, but there are some exceptions. Some ciders such as Hornsby’s and Harpoon contain some trace amounts of gluten, less than 20 parts per million, due to the gluten-based yeast they use to ferment the cider.
Almost 100% of Asturian ciders are gluten-free and, at international level, some of the hard cider brands that are recommended for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity are ACE, Angry Orchad, Crispin, Engine 15, Jack’s, Magners, Original Sin, Rekorderlig, Smith & Forge, Somersby, Strongbow or Woodchuck.
Even the big beer company Heineken has launched its own gluten-free cider brand, Apple Bandit (“Ladrón de Manzanas” in Spain), and their plan is to continue developing the cider market.