Inicio > Events > Fernando Vázquez Cárcaba wins the 35th MacCrimmon Gaita Tournament 2022

Fernando Vázquez Cárcaba wins the 35th MacCrimmon Gaita Tournament 2022

The Lorient Interceltic Festival returns to normality and recovers all the good customs and classics of the appointment in An Oriant. This Saturday, as tradition dictates, it was the turn of the MacCrimmon bagpipe trophy, where the best bagpipers from Asturies and Galicia are put to the test to win the award that is, for many, the mark of the best bagpiper of the southern Celtic nations.

Representing Asturies were Daniel Meré Fernández, who opened the stage, Jaime Álvarez Fernández, Diego Lobo and Fernando Vázquez Cárcaba, veterans of the festival. Representing Galicia, those chosen were Diego Prieto, a well-known promoter of the Galician bagpipe and language, Xesús Rodríguez Callejón, Manuel Seoane and Jorge Castello.

All the contestants must prepare an Asturian, a Galician and a Breton piece to defend in the inter-Celtic capital, where the jury made up of experts from these three nations assesses the clarity of execution, the fidelity and the color of these interpretations. Daniel Meré, a 2022 bagpipe graduate from the Uviéu Superior Conservatory and in charge of starting the session, decided to warm up with the Asturian piece and then continue with a Galician air and finish with the Breton composition.

The second of the Asturians, Jaime Álvarez Fernández, was the winner of the MacCrimmon Trophy in the 2017 edition, with nothing more than 16 years. It is already the fourth time that he participates in the trophy. Diego Lobo was the third Asturian contestant. The musician from Ayer, from the band El Gumial, began with a very difficult Asturian floréu jota, continued with Galician art and ended with Breton.

Fernando Vázquez, the last representative and recently released as a luthier, first played the Asturian part made up of floréu, xiringüelu and jota, followed by the Breton part, and finished off with Galician pieces. It was finally the musician from Siero who took home the first prize in an edition dedicated to our country. The classification was as follows:

8th Jorge Castello

7th Diego Lobo

6th Daniel Meré

5th Xesús Rodríguez

4th Diego Prieto

3rd Manuel Seoane

2nd Jaime Álvarez

1st Fernando Vázquez Cárcaba

(Visited 2,406,683 times)

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies.

Esti sitiu ueb utiliza cookies pa que vusté tea la meyor esperiencia d'usuariu. Si continúa navegando ta dando¡l so consentimientu pa l'aceptación de les mencionaes cookies y l'aceptación de la nuesa política de cookies. ACEPTAR

Aviso de cookies